{Live Vote Counting} Puducherry Election Results 2016 – Vidhan Sabha Chunav

Puducherry Election Result 2016 – Live Vote Counting Updates

The non-contiguous Indian union territory of Puducherry held its legislative assembly elections on 16th May 2016 to elect members to its 30 constituencies in a single phase with a total of 344 candidates in the fray. The current government led by N Rangaswamy is scheduled to complete its tenure in June 2016. Puducherry recorded 81.94% polling with a total of 9,41,935 voters exercising their franchise and casting votes to choose their next government. The counting of the votes for the Puducherry Election Result 2016 and the Live Vote Counting Updates is scheduled for 19th May 2016 with the election process completion deadline being set for 21st May 2016.

Puducherry Election Result Live Updates 2016

 For detailed info – CLICK HERE

The alliance of Indian National Congress and the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam has seen them contesting for 21 and 9 seats respectively while the ruling AINRC, ADMK and BJP have each contested separately in the 30 constituencies. Puducherry’s Chief Minister, N Rangaswamy, who had won five elections since 1991, had broken away from the Indian National Congress in 2011 to form AINRC (All India NR Congress). Even though with this poll, the party was aiming to consolidate its base in the Union Territory, including Congress strongholds of Mahe and Yaham, the exit poll surveys have proved otherwise. Another important challenger to AINRC has been the PWF – an alliance which has been formed by CPI (M), VCK, CPI, RSP and MDMK.

Exit Poll Surveys of the Puducherry Election Result 2016

The assembly elections in the other 4 states of the country, namely Assam, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu and Kerala, have reduced the Congress to a bleep and Puducherry is the only place which would appear to be the saving grace for this party. Last month’s opinion poll conducted by CVoter for the Puducherry Election Result 2016 with its Live Vote Counting Updates on 19th May 2016, showed the ruling party to be the winner of only 7 seats with the majority of 17 seats going to Congress and DMK alliance.


Recent exit poll surveys conducted by CVoter and India Today-Axis My India poll predict 16 seats for the Congress and DMK alliance. The polls expect the AINRC to bag 10 seats, AIADMK 3 seats and 1 seat to others.

Another survey which was conducted by an independent body also showed that Congress and DMK alliance shared 32.8 percent of the votes of the Puducherry Election Result 2016. The exit polls for the Puducherry Election Result 2016 show AINRC with 24.8%, AIADMK with 11.8% and the others getting 21.9% of the total votes cast. Even though the BJP is not likely to win in any of the constituencies, it will still manage to get 8.6% of the total votes.


With only a day left for the counting of the votes and the declaration of the Puducherry Election Result 2016 with its Live Vote Counting Updates, the contesting parties and the people of the Puducherry wait expectantly to see who will ultimately form the new government and be in control of the future of the Union Territory for the next five years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *